blog, Blog Post (actions)

The here and now!

The quickest way to reach any goal is to not concentrate on the end but to make small steps daily towards the end result. If you have a goal then to be able to achieve that goal, one must break the bigger goal down to smaller tasks. Think of what are all the actions needed to obtain the big goal. Write the big goal down,

 example: I want to lose 10 pounds by 3 months from now. 9/5/2017. I will lose 1 pound a week until I reach my goal. I will walk for 30 minutes a day and count my calories to not exceed 1100 calories a day.

As you can see by the above example, I have a big goal with the date that I would realistically can reach and daily actions to do in order to reach the big goal. I also have small goals which is to lose a pound a week.

1496597222774

I would give myself rewards along the way to help me stay motivated to reach the big goal.  (I wouldn’t suggest an award to be food in this instance since I have the goal to lose 10 pounds. I might have small goals for each week like treat myself to a movie, skipping the snack bar. I could pick out clothes in a smaller size to help give me insensitive to reach the big goal or maybe request and take a quiet day, just for me so I could take a long bath, put on a facial mask and paint my toes. Your reward doesn’t have to cost money and should be tailored to your own likes.

With keeping your eyes on the here and now,  it makes the big goal more achievable and easier to in picture the end results. All of a sudden, weeks go by and I step on the scale to see I way 10 pounds less than before and with the action plan set in place, I reached it effortlessly.

This goal setting strategy can be put in place for any goal. Another part of the plan is to try to foresee anything that could throw you off your plan and start thinking ahead of the actions for a alternative plan to outsmart any hiccups that may occur.  If you write these down too, then it is easier to find and read what you had planned if something went array instead of trying to depend on your memory.

Re member,  a year from now will come and either you could of reached for a goal or just let a year go by without accomplishing your major plans.

There are many goal planning books and audio recordings out there so I would invest in reading or listening to them. My favorite is “Goals Program” by Brian Tracy.  You pick which one that speaks to you though.

Love and Light sweeties,

Sherry Howe

Leave a comment